top of page

Acerca de

kenny-eliason-HXjtPt_XRAQ-unsplash.jpg

Guest Author:
Erica Wright

Erica Wright
 

August 17, 2024

4:00 p.m.

The Arts Building

301 E. 11th St.

FREE event — $5 donation suggested. 

Hollow Bones is available for purchase with ticket
or at the event from The Book & Cover!

We want our events to be accessible to all, but we do appreciate donations to help us keep bringing talented writers to Chattanooga in our visiting author series!

Join SoLit for an afternoon with Erica Wright in conversation with Paul Luikart! She will share from her new novel, HOLLOW BONES, an Appalachian retelling of Shakespeare's Measure for Measure. 

About the Author: 

Erica Wright's new novel Hollow Bones, a contemporary retelling of Shakespeare's Measure for Measure, will be out this August. Her essay collection Snake was released as part of Bloomsbury's Object Lessons series. Her mystery Famous in Cedarville received a starred review from Publishers Weekly and was called "a clever little whodunnit" in The New York Times Book Review. She is the author of five other books, including the poetry collections Instructions for Killing the Jackal and All the Bayou Stories End with Drowned. Her poems have appeared in Blackbird, Denver Quarterly, New Orleans Review, Painted Bride Quarterly, The Rumpus, and elsewhere. She was the senior poetry editor at Guernica Magazine for more than a decade and currently teaches at Bellevue University. She holds degrees from New York University and Columbia University. She lives in Knoxville, Tennessee with her family. 

About Hollow Bones:

An eerie Appalachian town. A fatal fire. Three women whose fates intertwine . . .

Essa Montgomery and her brother Clyde were brought up in New Hope, a serpent-handling church in Vintera, West Virginia, until the shocking deaths of both their parents closed the church down. Now twenty, reclusive Essa lives alone in her childhood home in the shadow of New Hope, which to her horror has been taken over by a new charismatic, unsettling pastor who continues the dangerous practice. So when the church burns down, she's glad - until she learns that two people died in the blaze, and her brother's the prime suspect . . .

Life has made Juliet Usher, who scratches a living as a psychic medium, both assertive and ruthless. With a baby on the way, it's the worst possible time for her partner Clyde to be arrested. She'll do anything to survive and keep him out of prison - no matter what it takes!

Merrit Callahan has always been ambitious. A striving news reporter, she's willing to go the extra mile and break the rules to get the big scoop. And in small-town Vintera, she thinks she might have found the story that will be the making of her career.

Fans of Angie Kim's Miracle Creek and Eli Cranor's Ozark Dogs will love this gripping and creepy mystery novel inspired by Shakespeare's Measure for Measure using a contemporary setting filled with shocking twists and turns!

southbound series 2024 (Qgiv Cover).png
Thanks to our sponsors, HHM & First Horizon
TM General Vertical Color (1).png
FH_TwoLine-CMYK 2.jpg
bottom of page